Newborn Lesson #5

July 21, 2011 (one week old): Days go by way too fast, (and I can only imagine they’ll go faster). Mila is one week old today and I swear I can still feel her kicks inside of me from time to time. Seems like just yesterday I was wabbling around with a huge belly…and mom was here.

I remember being only a month or so pregnant complaining that pregnancy should be 9 weeks not 9 months. 9 weeks I could handle. My first trimester wasn’t so pleasant…by my second, when I could feel the baby (we opted not to know the gender) inside of me, I was in a constant state of amazement. I loved all the baby’s movements and could have lived like that for, well, for a while anyway.

Nearing the end of my pregnancy, I wasn’t a happy camper. I was pretty short with everyone and cranky. I was ready to offload the extra weight (and lose the swelling) and I was excited to meet my baby. My mom lives in Florida and I was really lucky to have her here when I did give birth. I later apologized to her for being so snippy and she noted how everything changed in me the minute Mila was born. I had nothing but love the moment I exited the delivery room, new baby in my arms.

Leave a Reply

