Lesson #94: Shoes – Another Function

For a child that won’t keep socks on, shoes are great!

.

I always thought it was crazy buying and putting shoes on a baby that doesn’t walk or spend any time on his feet. Then there was Mila.

Mila hates socks and kicks and kicks and kicks until she can get them to fly off her feet. Most of the time I can’t find one of them so she now has several half-pairs.

Because it’s winter, (or at least when I was originally writing this), when we go out, I put socks on her AND shoes. The shoes are to hold her socks on so that her feet don’t freeze. I can’t say she really likes this idea much better, but at least her feet are warm.

Word of advice: get soft shoes. Her hard-soles hurt like crazy when she kicks my shins!

.

Update: As the weather is getting nicer, even though Mila’s not walking yet, we put shoes on her still. We use her walker outside on the concrete patio and if she didn’t have shoes on, her feet would end up all banged up and dirty. She tends to drag her feet a bit, so it’s safer to put little shoes on her. I just picked these up.

I had to go hard-soled so that she could walk on the pavement. 🙂

2 responses

  1. I learned this lesson with Kyler when in December we were on the garden tram and he was crying and couldn’t figure out why. Came to realize that his sock came off and he was cold. I needed shoes back then.

Leave a Reply

