Lesson #98: Pleasures of the Past

It’s funny how your past creeps into your present.

Soon after bringing Mila home, I caught myself putting her to bed with a kiss on her forehead and whispering the words, “Goodnight, angel. Mommy loves you”.

One night, with a jolt, came the realization that my own mother used to say and do this exact thing when she put me to bed at night. The memory brought tears to my eyes.

As the months go on, I notice more and more things I do that my mother once did. I’ve even needed her help remembering words to songs I’ve since forgotten.

April 28, 2012
9 and a half months

Leave a Reply

