Mila Gets Pierced Ears! And Colors?

Before.
12 months, 20 days.

Yep, so it’s a little late, or a little early, depending on your ear-piercing views. I remember being a kid wishing my mother had done this when I was a baby so I wouldn’t have to experience the anxiety, fear and pain of having my ears pierced. She told me that when she had hers done as a child at the doctor’s office they literally used a needle and thread. Thinking of that now, I wonder how that was managed.

After.
(I’ll spare you the video – I can’t even bear to watch it)

My cousin had her girls ears pierced when they were infants and Dan was just too worried to let me take Mila to have hers done. Well, at one-year-old, I decided I was going to have Mila’s ears pierced. When the doctor punched that hole through Mila’s ear and she SCREAMED at the top of her lungs, it broke my heart. I almost cried!

It didn’t take too long for Mila to calm down, (more time than when she’s had a shot or two, though), so we headed out to a restaurant for lunch. Dan’s idea of treating Mila for her trauma was to allow her to have a box of apple juice – not watered down. I thought it would have been nicer to give her a dessert.

Once we are seated and Mila had forgotten all about her traumatic experience, she turned to the crayons and a coloring paper the hostess gave her. We tried to show her what to do and she started to attempt coloring, then she crinkled the paper and stuck it in her mouth. She then broke the crayons and tried to eat them, too. That’s ok…we’ll try again another time.

One thing I’m excited about — coloring with Mila.

Since we’ve been home, she’s been fine. She’s left her ears alone as if nothing had ever happened. I hope it stays that way.

Leave a Reply

