It’s That Time Again!*

October 6, 2012
8 days shy of 15 months
Mila already has lots of Halloween attire.

By this time, most years, I’ve already figured out what I’m going to be for Halloween AND have begun to make my costume. Not this year, however. The furthest I’ve gotten was Mila choosing her own costume – a bumblebee. So where’s that leave me? Should I do something that relates to her – a flower, a stinger, a beehive, a larger bumblebee? I have not a clue.

I don’t even have my decorations out of storage and I’ve decided not to have my annual Halloween party this year, (the first time in 4 or 5 years I’ll break my tradition). It’s just too much. Too much money for someone who’s unemployed; too much energy for a mother chasing a one-year-old daily; too much cleaning, because the house has to be tip-top before the party and there’s always a mess after the party; too much effort for a few-hour event. It makes me tired just thinking about it!

Could I have possibly grown too old for Halloween?

Naaaah!

.

*Written mid-September 2012

Leave a Reply

