Lessons #124 to 126: Food, Sacrifice & Unchanging Eating Habits

#124: It’s difficult to eat when your child is screaming. “mo, mo, mo!” for her own food.

*

#125: No matter how much you are enjoying your dinner or dessert, you will give your last bite to your grunting, open-mouthed child.

*

#126: You’ll give up things you love for your child.

I gave up beer while I was pregnant. And I give up all my chopped pork in my pork-fried rice (my favorite part), because Mila absolutely loves it.

*

I wrote this back in July 2011, not long after Mila was born. I can say that more than a year later, not much has changed.

My eating habits progressed from little to nothing (no time to eat) to actually getting to eat, only it was a cold meal. I’ve learned to even juggle: my right hand with a spoon in Mila’s mouth and my left hand with a fork in my mouth.

The other day Mila and I had breakfast with my brother, who so astutely noted that he hadn’t seen me eat or finish a full meal in over a year. It was actually nice to have done so.

Leave a Reply

