30 Days of Thanks: Day Twelve

Today I am thankful for the memories of my grandfather.

He passed away in 2005 and there’s not a day that goes by that I do not think of him. He decorated for every holiday (even Valentines Day!), so when I put up the Halloween decorations, and especially the Christmas decorations I think of him. When I cook Thanksgiving dinner for my family, I think of him. When I teach Mila colors, I think of how he taught me “lellow” and “urple” and how my grandmother would throw a fit that he taught me the wrong words, (and we would just giggle at her). When I eat Lucky Charms, I think of how he let me eat all the marshmallows and he ate all the cereal. When I have my morning coffee, I think of how I would sit on his lap (or next to him at the table when I got way too big for his poor aching lap) and read the comics with him. When I see Ziggy or Snoopy, I think of him. When I think of the beach and fishing, I think of him. When I see a beautiful sea of colors from blooming flowers in the spring, I think of him.

He was my father before I had a father. He was my best friend. I was his Ande and he was my Poppy.

Leave a Reply

