I <3 Crafting!

I found a craft that originally called for painted rocks and an egg carton. I modified that idea into, what I call, a “color box” for Mila.

1. I hot glued cardboard pieces onto the bottom of a shoe box to create 4 sections.

photo-30

2. Mila and I went “rock hunting”. We took a bucket and headed outside to find the perfect rocks. Mila absolutely loved this part and I loved that she could help.

photo-32

3. I painted the rocks in 4 different colors, each corresponding to the colors on the box lid.

rocks-adj 

4. I made four holes and painted the lid to the box in 4 different colors. I used a paint-marker to write the colors on the box and sprayed it all with acrylic paint sealer/varnish to complete the project.

photo-33

I had to use several coats of paint on the box lid and as you can see, it’s not perfect. It serves its purpose and really, a toddler doesn’t mind.

Mila loves playing with rocks, so this was perfect for her. She also loves popping the rocks through the holes then taking the lid off and grabbing all the rocks out from inside. I’m pretty proud of this project. 🙂

photo-31

All proper projects require adequate testing before completion.

Leave a Reply

